Apple’s ‘Data and Privacy’ Portal: Here’s How to Use It

Golden locked padlock and keys on black computer laptop or tablet keyboard
Apple has established a new portal called “Data & Privacy” that allows users to view, modify or delete their personal data.

Apple had stood by its commitment to honoring the data that its devices may be collecting from users and it has even stonewalled efforts by the government agencies to access customer data residing on its servers.

Now the company has gone a step ahead and created a dedicated “Data & Privacy” portal.

If you are using any of the Apple devices across the spectrum, then it is essential that you learn more about the portal, how it works and how you can use it to your advantage.

You will be able to appreciate the steps taken by Apple to protect your privacy.

Steps to Use the Data & Privacy Portal

1. You will have to reach the “Data & Privacy” portal by entering apple.com on your browser.

2. You will be asked to log in using your Apple ID and password.

3. You may be required to enter your two-factor authentication code as well; this could be an instant code generated and communicated to you through email or mobile phone.

4. Once you are in, click/tap on “Continue.”

5. There are a few things you can accomplish at this stage; you can opt out and completely remove all the personal data related to you including surrendering your Apple ID. You can make some alterations to the data as well.

Making Corrections to Your Personal Data

As mentioned, you have the option to effect changes to the data Apple is holding, as displayed in the Data & Privacy portal.

Here are the steps:

1. Follow the steps above, from entering the site to logging in.

2. Locate the button that says “Correct your data” and select it.

3. Under this, you will find “Get Started.”Click/tap on it.

4. You can now make those changes you wish to.

5.  For changes to your Apple ID, go to appleid.apple.com

6. If it is the Apple Store you wish to go to and remove or change some of the details stored there, then you can navigate to this page to do so.

7. The last option allows you to manage virtually all other history of transactions you would have entered with your Apple ID. You can change your shipping address or make changes to your iPhone Upgrade program as well.

Deleting Your Apple Account

1. As mentioned, it is even possible to delete your Apple account if you so wish.

2. You might have stopped using an Apple device and you don’t want your personal information lying around with Apple in any form. You can do so by moving out of the Apple ecosystem completely:

3. Repeat the first steps, 1 to 4 above, while logging into the Data and Privacy portal.

4. As you see the dashboard in front of you, locate “Delete your account” and tap/click on it.

5. You will find the “Get started” button; tap/click on it.

6. You may get a warning that the process of deleting of your Apple account may take up to a week to complete.

7. You will also receive advice on backing up any data that is left behind there which you may need later, for any purpose, since you will lose access after removing the data.

8. You must sign out of all devices you had been using the Apple account to login.

9. You will have to answer a couple of questions on the reasons you decided to opt out.

10. And lastly, tap/click “Continue.”

At this stage, you will be directed to review the status of deleting your apple account once more:

  1. Tap/click “Continue” one more time.
  2. You will then be asked to review and confirm if you agree to the “Deletion Terms & Conditions.”
  3. Then “Continue.”
Mail Received Notification On Apple iPhone 5S
Give an email address or a phone number through which a message may be sent.

You will then be required to tell Apple how you must be kept informed about the status of deleting your account:

  1. Give an email address or a phone number through which a message may be sent.
  2. Then “Continue.”

At this juncture, you will be given a unique code that can be used if you want to cancel your request for deleting your account before the seven-day processing period is over.

  1. The system will want to make sure you have taken down the access code by making an entry in the box provided.
  2. Then “Continue.”
  3. Now you can give the final command by clicking on “Delete account.” That will mean not only deleting your account but removing from the Apple servers all the linked data.
Logo of Apple Inc. on a Apple store.
Apple has a system of verifying that it is you who has given the delete request and after this verification is complete, the deletion process will begin.

Apple has a system of verifying that it is you who has given the delete request and after this verification is complete, the deletion process will begin.

It is important to note that even as the deletion process is on, your account will be active.

If, out of curiosity, you make a visit to the portal during this period, you will find a notification on the right side of your screen saying your account is under deletion.

If you don’t visit and leave it as it is, you will receive a notification in the method you have chosen confirming that your Apple account stands deleted and that you cannot log into any of the Apple devices.

You Have a Facility to Ask for a Copy of Your Data

The new “Data & Privacy” portal of Apple gives you one more facility. You can ask for the details of the data that is stored in there to be sent to you. Right now, it is limited to users in the U.S. and Europe and Apple may open up other areas too later.

In this, after you log in as above, look for “Obtain a copy of your data” and select the details you need.

If there are large files or documents in there, it could be broken down to smaller packets of manageable sizes and sent to you. It will reach you through the registered email address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *